My Opening Statement

By Tyler M. Bryant

I’ve always gotten a lot of crap from my friends for listening to the radio.

Sorry – excuse my language.

I’ve always gotten a lot of crap from my friends for listening to pop music. As a musicians who has been playing, transposing, and building songs for the last eight years, many of my contemporaries in the refined musical culture of 18-25 year-old Charlotteans have openly vowed to stay away from any aesthetic that embraces the masculine-clichéd “club life” mentality.

(I’m looking directly at you Mr. 305., Mr. Worldwide).
(I’m looking directly at you Mr. 305., Mr. Worldwide).

I aim to go against that grain. I strive to present my view of building and analyzing songs from a lo-fi pop perspective. There too much music equipment that I don’t have which would make my songs sound like the polished programs of the radio. For now, all I have is my guitar, chords, and my voice as my tools. Here is some footage of a pop song I have adapted with my band, Greylock (facebook.com/greylockmusic).

 

Leave a Reply

