Open Mics, the Dane Page story

By Tyler M. Bryant

My buddy Dane Rockin’ it

I met Dane Page in high school while I was conducting a meeting for Guitar Club (I was the president, founder, and Grand Sultan at the time).

Go ahead, I dare you to play Stairway To Heaven incorrectly again (Wikipedia.org).
Go ahead, I dare you to play Stairway To Heaven incorrectly again (Wikipedia.org).

While the other 30 dudes in attendance engaged in volume battles with their 20-year-old guitar amps whilst jamming 20 different Metallica excerpts simultaneously, Dane was rocking a blues solo with the sagely skill of a pre-diabetes-spokesperson-B.B. King

Did somebody say they brought butterscotch? (Telegraph.co.uk)
Did somebody say they brought butterscotch? (Telegraph.co.uk)

Through various mutual friends (and by that, we mean our one mutual friend, Donnie Welch [twitter.com/donniewelchpoet]), Dane and I played in bands throughout my last two years of high school. First, we were in Donnie’s Love Fest, then it was Dane’s Freedom Circus, then it was The Love Circus and eventually, The Freedom Fest.

When I met Dane, I had been writing songs for a few years for my pre-pubescent punk trio, Negative 3 (myspace.com/negitivethreeband). Dane knew enough theory to play or improvise just about anything, but he said he wasn’t into writing.

Flash forward a few years: Dane is an architect of music songs so impressive, it would daunt a young Frank Lloyd Wright.

If only I could build songs so beautiful! (watchcartoononline.com)
If only I could build songs so beautiful! (watchcartoononline.com)

Of the people my own age who I write and play music with, Dane is hands-down the most comprehensively versed in music theory; he is well-versed in an eclectic mix of music and he musical virtuosity is unparalleled. He’s also an incredibly down-to-earth dude who is fantastic to share a beer and philosophize with.

Not to mentioned he’s a damned thief! He started writing his songwriting blog around the same time I started this very blog.

Get used to it: this is the face of an idea pirate. Property of Dane Page https://www.facebook.com/DanePageMusic
Get used to it: this is the face of an idea pirate.
Property of Dane Page https://www.facebook.com/DanePageMusic

Take a look at his latest post here. He writes about his tips for playing open mics, which is an endeavor I have joined him with in Charlotte/Cornelius/Wherever will bear us since our Senior year of high school.

I do really agree with his steps; my one point of contention, however, is with his philosophy of song order. Personally, I don’t think there is a defined formula for the best order of songs. He says that each of the songs should be damned good, but hopefully the reader wasn’t considering playing their “worst songs” list.

Don't be these guys. (setlist.fm)
Don’t be these guys.
(setlist.fm)

Sometimes, I think it’s great to start with a slow song and get faster. Here’s a my crazy opinion – sometimes you wanna start with something more laid-back just to set the mood, THEN you wanna go with the attention grabber.

Take a look at Dane’s music songs.

Leave a Reply

