When I started covering “Wasn’t Me”

By Tyler M. Bryant

I remember it like it was yesterday. In reality, it was just over two years ago.

I sat in my room in Morrison Dorm trying to come up with some cool covers to play at a local bar called Jack Sprat. After watching a video of a dude playing an LMFAO song acoustically, I became inspired to try to come up with my own pop melody that I could get stoked on.

After going on Billboard’s website to see the biggest pop songs of the time, I ran into a problem. I noticed that almost all of them had already been covered by scores and scores of amateurs (as well as famous musicians) on youtube. Noting my lifetime penchant for originality, I decided to take a pop song or two from my childhood – an era before it was popular to post videos of acoustic hiphop/pop covers on the internet.

After failing to initially take on “Ignition” by R. Kelly (however, I eventually¬†started covering it), I decided after some pondering to play “Wasn’t Me” by Shaggy.

Between the ages of 10 and 12, when my mom drove me all over our section of the state so that I could practice my freestyle off-road BMX, she would pump this jam every single time. After a while, it had become my favorite song. For about a year I believe, I made my mom play it in the car every time she drove me somewhere. Some kids grow up listening to the Rolling Stones, The Who, or The Beatles with their parents. I guess I listened to hiphop songs about infidelity.

I have played this song more times than I can count over the years, both with myself, and with my band, Greylock. An holy moly guacamole, our live soundcloud recording has over 2,000 views!

Here is what people likely imagine when I tell them that I cover this song acoustically:

Here is what I actually look like playing it:

Leave a Reply

